Success For Each Child & Eliminate the Opportunity Gap by Leading with Racial Equity

27 Schools in PSESD Region Honored as School of Distinction

6 Nov

PSESD is proud to announce that in the Puget Sound Educational Service District (ESD) region, which serves King and Pierce counties and Bainbridge Island, 27 schools in 13 school districts are 2017 School of Distinction award winners. The agency will hold an award ceremony December 11 for the award winning schools.

John Welch, Puget Sound ESD Superintendent states, “We are pleased to be a partner in honoring schools within our region that set a high standard in realizing dramatic achievement gains for students. We recognize the difficult and important work that this takes. We salute the students, families, educators, and communities for their successes and for setting a high bar for us all.”

The School of Distinction Awards are designed to:

  • Recognize sustained improvement using five years of improvement in performance data.
  • Performance is defined based on two foundational skills—literacy and numeracy. Specifically, results from the state assessments over those five years of data in English language arts (ELA)and
  • Use publicly available data to ensure transparency and ease of interpretation. mathematics.
  • Recognize that across our K-12 system there are different performance characteristics by grade bands (elementary,middle/junior high, and high schools). We will recognize the top 5% in each band for both traditional public schools and in alternative public schools.
  • Recognize meaningful improvement:-A small number (5%) of schools who have demonstrated sustained improvement in both ELA and math over a 5-year span (elementary and middle/junior high schools) and a sustained improvement in graduation rate (high schools).

Now in its 11th year, the School of Distinction (SOD) awards were created in the summer of 2007 to recognize the highest improving schools in Washington State. The awards are not intended as a replacement for state and federal accountability measures of school performance, but rather as a supplemental measure to recognize and celebrate school staff, students, and leaders who improve performance for all students over a sustained period of time in English language arts (ELA) and mathematics. The methodology has remained unchanged over the 11 years other than allowing for the transition from Measures of Student Progress (MSP) to Smarter Balanced Assessments (SBA) starting in 2015. Specifics of the methodology used to determine 2017 winners are summarized available here.

2017 School of Distinction Award Winners (PDF)

  • Bethel School District –  Chester H Thompson Elementary
  • Clover Park School District –  Evergreen Elementary*, Clover Park Hillside Elementary
  • Eatonville School District –  Eatonville Elementary
  • Enumclaw School District –  Westwood Elementary
  • Federal Way School District –  Technology Access Foundation Academy*
  • Highline School District –  CHOICE Academy*, Shorewood Elementary*
  • Kent School District –  Crestwood Elementary*, Kentlake High,  Millennium Elementary
  • Riverview School District –  PARADE*
  • Seattle School District –  Alki Elementary*, B F Day Elementary*, Cleveland High*, Hawthorne Elementary,  Seattle Hazel Wolf K‐8*, Madrona K‐8 *, Olympic Hills Elementary*, Rainier Beach High*
  • ShorelineSchool District –  Brookside Elementary
  • Sumner School District –  Emerald Hills Elementary*
  • Tacoma School District –  Lincoln*, Oakland High, Science and Math Institute*, Wilson High*
  • University Place School District –  University Place Primary

*=Repeat Winners

2017 school of distinction logo with supporting agency logos

Post Comment